Iloilo City, Province placed under ECQ until July 31

New Plaza Libertad in front of Iloilo City Hall. Photo by Randy Javier Fadrigo.

The quarantine status in the province of Iloilo and its highly-urbanized city has been elevated to the most restrictive enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) from the more relaxed modified ECQ (MECQ), Malacañang announced on Friday.

The Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) made the reclassification upon the recommendations of the Department of Health, its Technical Advisory Group, and the Technical Working Group on the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (Covid-19) Variants, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said in a press statement.

The ECQ classification in the province and city of Iloilo will take effect “immediately” until July 31, Roque said.

“The Inter-Agency Task Force escalated the community quarantine classification of Iloilo Province and Iloilo City from Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine until July 22, 2021, to Enhanced Community Quarantine until July 31, 2021,” Roque said.

Data from the Iloilo Provincial Health Office showed that the province has 2,975 active Covid-19 cases, 349 deaths, and 11,087 recoveries.

Apart from Iloilo province and its city, Cagayan de Oro and the City of Gingoog in Misamis Oriental have also been placed under ECQ until the end of the month, Roque said.

“From its initial MECQ classification until July 31, 2021, Cagayan de Oro is now placed under ECQ until July 31, 2021. The City of Gingoog in the province of Misamis Oriental is likewise placed under ECQ until the end of the month,” he said.

The IATF-EID, Roque said, also decided to extend the general community quarantine (GCQ) “with heightened restrictions” classification in Antique until July 31.

Misamis Oriental, which was initially under the most relaxed modified GCQ (MGCQ) classification until July 31, 2021, has been put under GCQ “with heightened restrictions” until the end of July, Roque said.

Roque said President Rodrigo Duterte has already approved the new quarantine classifications.

Davao Occidental, Davao de Oro, Davao del Sur, Davao del Norte, and Butuan City are under MECQ until 31.

Other areas under GCQ “with heightened restrictions” until the end of July include Cagayan, Lucena City, Naga City, Negros Oriental, Zamboanga del Sur, and Davao City,

The GCQ classification “with heightened restrictions” has also been imposed in Aklan, Bacolod City, and Capiz from July 16 to 22.

GCQ sans restrictions has been implemented in Metro Manila, Rizal, Cavite, Bulacan, Puerto Princesa City, Zamboanga del Norte, Davao Oriental, Surigao del Sur, Dinagat Islands, Baguio City, Apayao, City of Santiago, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Quezon, Batangas, Guimaras, Negros Occidental, Zamboanga Sibugay, City of Zamboanga, General Santos City, Sultan Kudarat, Sarangani, Cotabato, South Cotabato, Agusan del Norte, Surigao del Norte, Agusan del Sur, and Cotabato City.

The rest of the country stays under MGCQ. (By Ruth Abbey Gita-Carlos, PNA)

About Nonoy Taclino

Nonoy Taclino is a pioneer blogger and social media manager in Iloilo, with 15 years of experience under his belt.

View all posts by Nonoy Taclino →

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.