Iloilo City barangay named National Champion in 2019 Lupong Tagapamayapa Awards

Barangay Calumpang in Iloilo city declared national champion in 2019 Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentive Award.

Once again, Barangay Calumpang in Molo, Iloilo was declared champion in the National Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentive Award (LTIA) 2019 for barangays in highly urbanized cities category.

The LTIA is awarded to Lupong Tagapamayapa that “demonstrates exemplary performance in settling disputes at the grassroots level.”

“Winning the award is hard, and it requires involvement and commitment of our Lupons to lower the number of cases that are being mediate and conciliate, and to implement various practices so that these cases will lead to quality amicable settlement,” said Calumpang Punong Barangay Roberto Niño Jr.

Niño received the LTIA trophy and cash award together with Iloilo City Mayor Jerry Treñas, Liga Ng Mga Barangay sa Pilipinas Iloilo City Chapter President Irene Ong, and members of Lupon of Calumpang.

The awarding ceremony was done Friday, October 18 at the Manila Hotel in Manila.

The LTIA was established in 1997 under Section 406 (b) of the Local Government Code of 1991 which mandates the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) “to grant economic and other incentives to Lupong Tagapamayapa for their outstanding contributions to attain the objectives of the Katarungang Pambarangay (KP).”

Punong Barangay Robert C. Niño Jr of Calumpang shows the plaque and cash award for winning the 2019 LTIA.
Punong Barangay Robert C. Niño Jr of Calumpang shows the plaque and cash award for winning the 2019 LTIA.

The primary responsibility of a Lupong Tagapamayapa is to operationalize the barangay justice system, known as the Katarungang Pambarangay – an administrative body created by law.

The LTIA has 4 categories, namely, 4th to 6th class municipality, 1st to 3rd class municipality, component city and highly urbanized city.

Barangay Calumpang is one of the three awardees in the highly-urbanized category. They received P300,000 cash and presidential trophy as champion, while the 1st runner-up received P150,000 cash and trophy, wand the 2nd runner-up got P100,000 cash and trophy.

Barangay Calumpang is already a Hall Famer in the LTIA for winning the awards in consecutive years.

About Iloilo Today

News and Media Blog in Iloilo City, Philippines.

View all posts by Iloilo Today →

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.