Senator Franklin Drilon voted as new Senate President

Ilonggo senator and administration ally Franklin Drilon has been named by his peers as the new Senate President via a 17-6 votes over Senator Juan Ponce Enrile.

Drilon was nominated as the head of senate by Senator Sonny Angara and seconded by Senator Grace Poe Llamanzares, the leading vote-getter in previous elections. Fomer Senate President Enrile was nominated by neophyte Senator Nancy Binay.

“I stand before you honored & humbled by your trust in me. It is a great honor to lead this chamber for the 4th time,” Drilon said in his acceptance speech.senate president drilon

“Now more than ever, we have to work harder to craft laws to have positive impact on lives of Filipinos.”

How the Senate voted

Votes for Enrile

  1. Franklin Drilon
  2. Nancy Binay
  3. Gregorio Honasan
  4. Tito Sotto
  5. Jinggoy Estrada
  6. JV Ejercito

Votes for Drilon

  1. Juan Ponce Enrile
  2. Sonny Angara
  3. Grace Poe Llamanzares
  4. Loren Legarda
  5. Nancy Villar
  6. Koko Pimentel
  7. Pia Cayetano
  8. Alan Peter Cayetano
  9. Ralph Recto
  10. Francis Escudero
  11. Teofisto Guingona III
  12. Serge Osmeña III
  13. Antonio Trillanes IV
  14. Ramon Revilla Jr
  15. Bam Aquino
  16. Lito Lapid
  17. Bongbong Marcos

Recto was voted Senate President Pro-Tempore while Alan Cayetano installed as Majority Leader. Enrile automatically named as Minority Leader.

This will be the fourth time for Ilonggo Senator to sit as the Senate President. He previously held the position in 2000, 2001-2004 and 2004-2006. He will open the joint session of 16th Congress this afternoon as President PNoy Aquino will deliver his fourth State of the Nation Address.

About Iloilo Today

News and Media Blog in Iloilo City, Philippines.

View all posts by Iloilo Today →

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.