Two Ilonggos named Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines awardees

Two young and bright Ilonggos were named among the 2016 Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines (TOSP).

Riego Ferrer L. Garcia of Central Philippine University (CPU) and Anne Catherine D. Malazarte of University of San Agustin (USA) were chosen as among the best students in the country, from a total of 30 finalists.

Department Of Science And Technology (DOST) Secretary Fortunato Dela Peña leads the awarding rites for TOSP 2016 at the Heroes Hall in Malacañan Palace on Thursday, February 9, 2017.

Garcia studied Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Engineering in CPU, and was a Prime Minister of the CPU Republic. Pride of Concepcion, Iloilo, he was also named Philippines Ambassador for Peace and Goodwill to Japan and an Ayala Young Leader Awardee.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

Malazarte finished as Cum Laude in Bachelor of Arts Major in Painting at USA. One of the most promising artists in the country today, she was a recipient of Napoleon Abueva trophy for winning the Grand Award at Petron National Student Art Competition for Video-making last year.

For complete list of top ten awardees, see this post by NETPinas.

TOSP is one of the most prestigious awards for Filipino students, founded by RFM Corporation in 1961.

The program recognizes young role models of the country who have personified academic excellence, exemplary leadership and deep sense of social responsibility, all anchored in good moral values.

About Iloilo Today

News and Media Blog in Iloilo City, Philippines.

View all posts by Iloilo Today →

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.