2 Ilonggos among Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines 2016 finalists

Two young and bright Ilonggos were selected as finalists in the ongoing search for Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines (TOSP) 2016.

TOSP is one of the most prestigious awards for Filipino students, founded by RFM Corporation in 1961. The program recognizes young role models of the country who have personified academic excellence, exemplary leadership and deep sense of social responsibility, all anchored in good moral values.

TOSP held a National Screening Assembly last August 6, 2016 at RFM Corporate Center in Mandaluyong City to pick the 30 national finalists out of the 91 regional awardees and national nominees all over the country.

Among those who were named were Riego Ferrer L. Garcia of Central Philippine University (CPU) and Anne Catherine D. Malazarte of University of San Agustin (USA).

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});

Garcia studied Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Engineering in CPU, and was a Prime Minister of the CPU Republic. Pride of Concepcion, Iloilo, he was also named Philippines Ambassador for Peace and Goodwill to Japan and an Ayala Young Leader Awardee.

Malazarte finished as Cum Laude in Bachelor of Arts Major in Painting at USA. One of the most promising artists in the country today, she was a recipient of Napoleon Abueva trophy for winning the Grand Award at Petron National Student Art Competition for Video-making last year.

As national finalists, Garcia and Malazarte will participate in the TOSP National Week Activities which consists of a three-day formation program, outreach and exposure activities on a schedule to be set by the organizers.

TOSP 2016 winners will awarded by the President at a ceremony in Malacañang Palace.

About Iloilo Today

News and Media Blog in Iloilo City, Philippines.

View all posts by Iloilo Today →

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.